Church Boys United to face Bhutan's Paro FC in AFC Challenge League

League Champions Church Boys United will host Bhutan's Paro FC in the preliminary stage of the inaugural AFC Challenge League on August.

The match will be played in a single-leg knockout format on August 13 and the winner of the match will qualify for the group stage of the competition.

The group stage matches will be held on October 26 and November 2 on home and away basis. If qualified, Church Boys will receive a minimum of USD100,000 for the competition.

Asian Football Confederation announced the competition on Thursday as part of the revamped AFC Club Competitions structure, the new third-tier Continental men’s competition which will bring together 18 aspiring teams to contend for glory.

Read more


National women's team squad down to 25

The national women's football team squad has been down to 25.

The team is currently in closed camp training at ANFA Complex in Satdobato.


Goalkeepers: Anjila Tumbapo Subba, Anjana Rana Magar, Usha Nath

Defenders: Amrita Jaishi, Gita Rana, Hira Kumari Bhujel, Bimala BK, Nisha Thokar, Puja Rana, Samikshya Ghimire, Pratikshya Chaudhary

Midfielders: Renuka Nagarkoti, Saru Limbu, Anita Basnet, Sabita Rana Magar, Dipa Shahi, Anita KC, Preeti Rai, Amisha Karki, Bimala Chaudhary, Sarswoti Hamal

Forwards: Sabitra Bhandari, Rekha Poudel, Rashmi Kumari Ghising, Chadra Bhandari

(File photo)

Read more


APF Football Club to take part in inaugural season of the AFC Women’s Champions League

National Women's League 2022 Champions AAPF Football Club will take part in the inaugural season of the AFC Women’s Champions League which will get underway in August.

The official draw ceremonies for both the Preliminary Stage and Group Stage will be conducted on Thursday, July 18 at the AFC House.

Clubs from the top eight MAs, as ranked according to the latest FIFA Women’s World Ranking (as of 15 March 2024), will qualify directly to the Group Stage, which comprises three groups of four teams to be contested in a centralised league format from October 6 to 12.

The remaining 14 clubs will have to make it through the Preliminary Stage that features four groups – two groups of four teams and two groups of three - to be played in a centralised league format between August 25 and 31, with the four group winners qualifying for the Group Stage.

APF Football Club were crowned champions of the League held in Chitwan from March 24 to April 13, 2022. The club, ranked 18, will now take part in the preliminary stage of the competition.

(File photo)

Read more


Karki Most Valuable player, Samajik Youth Fair Play team

RC 32 Football Academy Rohan Karki has been named as the Most Valuable Player of Martyr's Memorial C Division League 2024. Karki also won a cash prize of Rs 50,000 with the award.

Social Welfare Sports Center Club's Roshan Chhetri won the Highest Scorer award. Chhetri has scored 12 goals in the tournament. Champions Bagmati Youth Club's stopper Anish Mahato won the Best Goalkeeper award.

Both Chhetri and Mahato won Rs 35,000 each for their respective awards.

Samajik Youth Club won the Fair Play Team of the tournament and won Rs 50,000.

Read more