National women's team return home, players to receive Rs 51k each

After their remarkable performance as runners-up in the WAFF Women's Championship in Saudi Arabia, members and officials of the national women's team returned home to a hero's welcome on Friday night at Tribhuvan International Airport.

Member of the House of Representatives and former State Minister for Health Dr. Toshima Karki, along with ANFA President Pankaj Bikram Nembang, Senior Vice President Bir Bahadur Khadka, General Secretary Kiran Rai, and Ex-Co members Purushottam Thapa and Tika Lama were among those present to extend their warmest congratulations to the team.

In recognition of their outstanding achievement, President Nembang announced a cash prize of Rs 51,000 for each player of the national team.

Nepal had eased through their way into the final which they lost to Jordan on penalties.

Read more


SAFF U-16 Women's Championship Kicks Off at ANFA Complex

The SAFF U-16 Women's Championship commenced at ANFA Complex on Friday.

Member Secretary of National Sports Council Tanka Lal Ghising inaugurated the event in presence of ANFA President Pankaj Bikram Nembang and General Secretary Kiran Rai.

In the inaugural match, India dominated the field, securing a convincing 7-0 victory over Bhutan. Shveta Rani, Pearl Fernandes, and Anushka Kumari each netted braces, while Anwita Raghuraman added one more goal to India's tally, sealing a comprehensive win.

Nepal is set to kick off their campaign against Bangladesh on Sunday.

For more photos, follow our Facebook page album link here.

Read more


33 players called up for World Cup Qualifiers preliminary squad

Thirty-three players have been called up for the preliminary squad for the upcoming second round matches of World Cup Qualifiers against Bahrain.

Nepal will play against Bahrain on March 21 and March 27.

Head coach Vincenzo Alberto Annese named his squad for the two matches on Thursday.

The team will begin the closed camp from Monday (March 4).

Goalkeepers: Abhishek Baral, Bishal Sunar, Deep Karki, Kiran Chemjong

Defenders: Ajay Chaudhary, Ananta Tamang, Anjal Maharjan, Bimal Panday, Bishal Basnet, Chhiring Lama, Dipendra BK, Rohit Chand, Sanish Shrestha, Sumit Shrestha, Yogesh Gurung

Midfielders: Arik Bista, Bishal Tamang, Kritish Ratna Chhunju, Laken Limbu, Mani Kumar Lama, Manish Dangi, Rohan Karki, Santosh Khatri, Suraj Jeu Thakuri, Utsab Rai

Forwards: Anjan Bista, Ayush Ghalan, Dinesh Henjan, Gillespye Jung Karki, Hisub Thapaliya, Rajesh Pariyar, Sameer Tamang, Sanjeeb Bista

Read more


Nepal finish as runner-up in WAFF Women's Championship

Nepal finished as runners-up in the WAFF Women's Championship as the team lost 5-3 on penalties against Jordan in an enthralling final at Jeddah on Thursday.

The title was decided on penalties after the regular 90 minutes ended in 2-2 draw. Gita Rana, Dipa Shahi and Hira Kumari Bhujel converted their penalties while Amrita Jaishi's shot was saved by Jordan's goalkeeper Sherin AlShalabe.

Nepal, playing without their talisman Sabitra Bhandari who joined her club in France, took the lead through Sabita Rana Magar, who had replaced Bhandari in the lineup, in the 29th minute. Nepal's defense held firm to fend off Jordan's attack but was eventually breached in the 73rd minute when Lana Feras levelled the score.

Jordan then stunned the hundreds of Nepali fans present in the stadium taking the lead through Sarah Abu Sabbah in the 89th minute and had thought they had secured the comeback win but the entertaining and thrilling matches still had plenty to offer which would take the match to penalties.

Nepal won the penalty in the second minute of added time and Gita Rana stepped up to calmly slot the ball home and level the score at 2-2.

But following Jaisi's saved penalty and Rouzbahan Fraij decisive penalty, the national women's team wait for their first trophy was prolonged further.

Read more