India crushes Nepal to lift record fifth SAFF Women's title

  • 2019-03-22

Yujal Shrestha, ANFA Media

March 22, 2019 - India have beaten Nepal 3-1 at the Sahid Stadium in Biratnagar to take their fifth consecutive SAFF Women’s Championship title today.

Nepal went into half-time level after Sabitra Bhandari had exquisitely equalized Dalima’s opener for India but after the interval had to concede to their opponent’s genius, as Grace Dangmei and Anju Tamang both etched their names on the scoresheet.

Dalima Chhibber (26th) had put India ahead with a rocket in the first half but that lead didn’t last long, as Sabitra Bhandari found a header for the equalizer seven minutes later.

Nepal defender Hira Kumari Bhujel fouled the Indian striker Grace Dangmei 30 yards out in the left flank. Dalima Chhibber got up to send the resulting free kick over the wall and into the top right corner.

Grace Dangmei’s 63rd minute sensational run with the ball into box beating Nepal goalkeeper Anjila Tumbapo Subba put India back in the lead and Anju Tamang shot in the 78th minute made sure the title goes the way to the neighboring side.

India's Dalima Chhibber, Indhumathi Kathiresan and Nepal's Sabitra Bhandari were the winners of the MVP and Top Scorer awards respectively during the championship.

Kathiresan and Bhandari both recorded four goals in the tournament. 

Meanwhile, Bangladesh  bagged the fair-play award. 

See Also