Church Boys crowned Champions in debut top-tier season

  • 2023-06-06

Promoted API Power Church Boys have been crowned Champions of the Martyr's Memorial A Division League after a goalless draw against Three Star Club at Dasharath Stadium on Tuesday.

The title marks a meteorological rise for the club becoming the only second club to win from C Qualifiers to A Division in consecutive seasons. Manang Marsyangdi Club is other club which had won all the four tier leagues in consecutive seasons.

While Church Boys players and officials celebrated the title win, uncertainty surrounds Three Star's fate in A Division. Three Star have 29 points and are in 12th place. FC Khumaltar on 27 points climbed to 13th after win over APF Football Club and Friends Club on 26 points have two games in hand.

In other games, Tribhuvan Army Football Club played a 1-1 draw against Nepal Police Club at ANFA Complex while FC Khumaltar defeated APF Football Club 3-1 to keep their hopes of escaping relegation alive.

Dinesh Henjan gave Army the lead in the second minute but Ahmad Hijazi's 39th minute strike levelled the game for Police. Police jumped a place above to third in the points table with 38 points while Army are seventh with 31 points.

In the game at Chyasal Stadium, Messouke Etiegnie Oloumou scored twice and Stephane Binong scored the other goal in Khumaltar's victory over APF. Messouke opened the scoring in the 11th minute before doubling it in the added minutes of the game.

Binong made it 3-0 in the 51st minute before Sanish Shretha pulled one back for APF in the added minutes of the game.

The fourth and final game of the day saw Royal Blue Satdobato Youth Club defeat Jawalakhel Youth Club 1-0 and push for a top three finish in the league.

Sardorbek Matmuratov scored the only goal for Satdobato in the 74th minute of the game. Satdobato remain in the fifth place despite the win with 35 points. Jawalakhel are two points above Satdobato in fourth place.

See Also