Church Boys closer to title after Jawalakhel victory, Satdobato defeat Army

  • 2023-06-03

A double from Aashish Chaudhary helped API Power Church Boys United move closer to the title of Martyr's Memorial A Division League 2023 with a 3-0 victory over another title contender Jawalakhel Youth Club.

In the third match of the day, Anjan Bista put Church Boys ahead from the spot in the first half. Bista's penalty shot was initially saved by Jawalakhel goalkeeper Ishwor Gurung but Bista buried the rebound off the post into the net.

Chaudhary then scored twice in the final few minutes to seal the victory. His first came in the 88th minute and added another in the third minute of the added time.

Jawalakhel are third on the table with 37 points with two games remaining.

In the other matches of the day, Tribhuvan Army Football Club lost 2-0 to Royal Blue Satdobato Youth Club and Three Star Club secured a 1-1 draw with APF Football Club. 

In the match at Chyasal Stadium, Satdobato took the lead through Shiva Subedi in just the second minute of the game before Nawayug Shrestha levelled from the spot in the 29th minute. But another penalty in the 63rd minute this time to Satdobato sealed the victory for them.

Dipenk Raj Singh scored from the spot to secure three points for Satdobato. The win takes Satdobato to fifth on the table with 32 points while Army are two points below on seventh.

The other game at Dasharath Stadium saw Three Star and APF sharing points. APF had taken the lead through Mani Kumar Lama in the 23rd minute but Sunil Tamang secured the point for three star four minutes from time. APF are ninth with 30 points and Three Star are 11th with 28.

See Also