Machhindra claim first win, Friends end Jawalakhen unbeaten run

  • 2023-03-14

Jawalakhel Youth Club's unbeaten start in the Martyr's Memorial A Division League 2023 came to an end when they went down 2-1 against Friends Club at Dasharath Stadium on Tuesday.

Rafiq Aminu and skipper Prakash Budathoki scored for Jawalakhel in the win. Aminu opened the scoring in the 19th minute which was doubled by Budathoki five minutes before the break. Fode Fofana pulled one back for Jawalakhel but the comeback was too little and too late to salvage a point.

Jawalakhel was reduced to 10 players when Simanta Thapa was shown a second yellow in the added minutes of the game.

Manish Dangi missed a penalty as Sankata Club played out an entertaining goalless draw with leaders Church Boys United at ANFA Complex in Satdobato. Sankata had won the penalty in the added minutes of the time when Dangi's shot was stopped by Church Boys goalkeeper Guillaume Priso.

Machhindra Football Club won their first match of the season with a comeback 2-1 victory over Nepal Police Club. Nepal Police had taken the lead through Anjan Rai's ninth minute strike but Afeez Olawale Oladipo scored a brace for Machhindra to complete the comeback win.

Olawale scored his first in the 20th minute and added a second in the 40th minute.

See Also