Army defend title

June 12, 2017 – Nepal Army Club defeated CMG Sankata Club 1-0 to retain the title of the Lalit Memorial U-18 Championship at the ANFA Complex on Monday.

Arik Bista’s 52nd minute strike from about 22 yards proved to be the deciding goal of the match that was evenly contested.

With the win, Nepal Army bagged a cash prize of Rs. 300,000, while Sankata claimed Rs. 150,000.

Nepal Army scooped four of the five individual awards up for grabs as Biswas Udas (Defense), Dinesh Yonzon (Mid-field), Arpan Karki (Goalkeeper) and Chakra Tamang (Coach), all from Army were adjudged the best in their respective categories. Dipesh Ale Magar from Sankata was the declared the best forward.

The winners of the individual awards had Rs. 10,000 as cash prize.

Earlier in the day, Lalitpur District’s newly elected Mayor Chiribabu Maharjan, ANFA President Narendra Shrestha and Lalit Krishna Shrestha’s widow Nilu Shrestha paid homage to late Shrestha as ANFA marked the second death anniversary of its former acting president.

The tournament had 16 teams divided into four groups. The best two teams from each group had advanced to quarter-finals.